Free Virtual Event Agenda

Getting Started with Enterprise Containers Summit

9 a.m. PDT/12 p.m. EDT, Containers 101:
What Are Containers and What Applications Are They Right (and Wrong) For?
Containerized applications and microservices have taken the IT and development world by storm in the last few years.

In this session, we'll briefly look at the history of how we got to this point and what the state of the art looks like in containerized applications. Next, we'll address the DevOps model that undergirds much of the containerization trend and how it needs to be embraced to get the maximum value out of containers.

The heart of the session will be a close look into the types of applications that thrive in a containerized environment, as well as types of applications that aren't suited for containers at all. We'll look at performance considerations, security considerations, platform considerations, and more.

10 a.m. PDT/1 p.m. EDT, Containers 102:
Managing Containers with Kubernetes and Other Tools
Once you've identified a set of applications that would theoretically perform well in a container environment, it's time to look at implementation.

In this session, we'll get into the details that separate successful container and microservices implementations from unsuccessful ones. The session will start with an overview of the problems, bottlenecks, and other gotchas that emerge with new containerization efforts. After looking at the problems, we'll take a deep dive into management tools, Kubernetes, application delivery controllers, network architectures, and other best practices.

At the end of the session, attendees should understand what their enterprise container framework — both software and hardware — needs to look like to ensure maximum performance and minimal problems.

11 a.m. PDT/2 p.m. EDT, Containers 103:
How to Think about Costs with Containerized Apps
We'll walk through several common scenarios, starting with what costs look like when you overlay containers and microservices on your legacy datacenter. We'll look at the costs of a greenfield on-premises datacenter, optimized in every way for container/microservices performance.

Then we'll look at cost considerations related to containers in the public cloud and in hybrid cloud environments. Attendees will complete the session with a framework for thinking about overall enterprise container costs in various scenarios.


Why Attend?

Win a $500 Amazon Gift Certificate!

We're giving away a $500 Amazon Gift Certificate to one lucky attendee who registers and attends on the day of the event! ! SIGN UP TODAY!

Register Now